Organisation

Since 1885 Henley Royal Regatta has been organised by a self-electing body of Stewards, most of whom are well-known and successful rowers and scullers.

The Stewards’ practical application of their knowledge of the sport to the actual running of the Regatta undoubtedly makes a great contribution to its success.

A Committee of Management, consisting of 12 of the Stewards, is elected annually and is responsible for all planning and detailed organisation. The Stewards’ primary consideration is the best interests of those who are competing in the races and the Members of the Stewards' Enclosure in equal measure.

Her Majesty The Queen is Patron of the Regatta.

Although Her Majesty officially opened the new Regatta Headquarters in 1986, she has not visited the Regatta since 1946, when she did so as HRH Princess Elizabeth.

In 1851 HRH Prince Albert (before he became Prince Consort) consented to become the first Royal Patron of the Regatta, following which it received its Royal prefix, meaning the Regatta could be called  Henley Royal Regatta.  After his death, HM Queen Victoria consented to the title being retained, and on the accession of each Monarch since the death of Queen Victoria the Regatta has applied for and received notification that Royal Patronage will continue.

Many of the Regatta’s events have a Royal theme:

The Princess Elizabeth Challenge Cup

The Queen Mother Challenge Cup

The Princess Grace Challenge Cup

The Prince of Wales Challenge Cup

The Diamond Jubilee Challenge Cup

The Prince Albert Challenge Cup

The Princess Royal Challenge Cup

Sir Steve Redgrave, CBE (Chairman)

Professor N B Rankov

R C Phelps

R C Stanhope

G W Hammond

F B Hunt-Davis, MBE

G Batten

Sir Matthew Pinsent, CBE

N Chugani

A P S Crawford

S K Winckless, MBE

S H M Hosking, MBE

 

The Mayor of Henley

G H Brown

M A Sweeney, CBE (President)

J A Stephenson

A G Robertson

P G R Delafield

The Right Honourable the Lord Camoys, GCVO

R C Lester

Dr I Reid

C L Baillieu, MBE

J K Mullard

J C Luker

C P Etherington

The Emeritus Bishop of Menevia

Dr P L Thomas

F J Smallbone

Dr W M R Johnston

Dr R G M Budgett, OBE

Professor N B Rankov

R D Clegg

M D Williams

M B Baldwin

J F Boultbee, AM

Major the Right Honourable the Lord Wigram, MVO

Sir Steve Redgrave, CBE

R C Stanhope

R C Phelps

C J Rodrigues, CBE

J A Friend

G B Stewart

Sir Matthew Pinsent, CBE

Dr J G Michels

A Phelps, CBE

J W C Searle, MBE

G W Hammond

F B Hunt-Davis, MBE

C L Richmond

B M Edwards

G M P Searle, MBE

Dr Dame Katherine Grainger, DBE

J G Hedger

J W Koven

P T Cusack

G Batten

Sir David Wootton

A P S Crawford

N Chugani

S K Winckless, MBE

F K Dennis

M J Hunter, MBE

T W James, MBE

M J Brittin

Dr Lady Redgrave

M B D Helm

M Luke

J R M Harlow

R C D Murray

Dr C J Bishop

S H M Hosking, MBE

A L Faiers

S A P Cook

L T O Dillon

D K Bruwer

Secretary & Chief Executive: D G M Grist

The Regatta Headquarters building is located on the Berkshire side of the river, next to Henley Bridge, and opposite the Angel on the Bridge public house.

In 1983 the Regatta purchased the derelict Carpenters’ Arms public house and this building was demolished and replaced with the present Headquarters.  The new building was designed by the Terry Farrell Partnership and built at a cost in the region of £1.2m.

On 16 April 1986 the new Headquarters was opened by Her Majesty The Queen, Patron of the Regatta, accompanied by His Royal Highness Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh.

The unique design of the building has won many awards, including the Financial Times Architecture at Work Award in 1987, the Royal Institute of British Architects Architecture Award in 1988, and a Wokingham District Council Design Award in 1994.

In 2018 Henley Royal Regatta Headquarters was listed at Grade II by Historic England for the following principal reasons:  Architectural interest, Historic interest and Group Value.

Regatta Headquarters has three levels, a store and wet dock on the ground floor, a large Committee Room, with offices and a shop and store area on the middle floor, and the upper floor contains a self-contained apartment.

A Very Special Day...

The official opening of Regatta Headquarters by Her Majesty The Queen on 16 April 1986
Arriving at Regatta HQ

Arriving at Regatta HQ

Meeting the staff

Meeting the staff

Viewing the Launches

Viewing the Launches

Explore More...

Browse other Areas of the Regatta

Charitable Trust

Supporting grass-roots rowing

More

Temple Island

Available for corporate and leisure functions

Explore